Trading in the GBP/USD!
GBP/USD

Analysis of the price of the currency pair GBP/USD

Trading in the GBP/USD!
BUY   SELL
77% of retail CFD accounts lose money - Plus500.com
 
Chart provided by Tradingview

The GBP/USD currency pair, or sterling pound dollar, is currently one of the most traded currency pairs on the foreign exchange market. This is therefore obviously one of the most important currency pairs on the Forex market in terms of liquidity, closely behind the EUR/USD. But what does this currency pair actually represent and, in particular, how does this exchange rate function and how can it be correctly analysed? This is what we shall explain here in this article dedicated to this currency pair on the foreign currencies market.  

Elements that can influence the price of this asset:

Analysis N°1

The economic health of these two countries. It is clear that the strength of demand in the sterling pound or American dollar will depend greatly on the appeal of their respective economies. A growth or economic crisis in the United States or United Kingdom could therefore lead to a rise or fall in this currency exchange rate by favouring or disfavouring the GBP or USD.

Analysis N°2

The monetary policies of these two countries are also major factors to take into consideration when completing a fundamental analysis. Concerning the United Kingdom, it is the BOE, or Bank of England, that meets monthly to publish a report summarising its monetary policy which should of course be followed and their decisions taken into account. For the United States, the central bank responsible for monetary policy is the Fed, or American Federal Reserve. These entities can exert a significant influence on the interest rates of the sterling pound or American dollar through a rise, a drop or even by leaving it unchanged which will therefore affect the taking of positions by investors in these two currencies.

Analysis N°3

The overall economic policies of these two countries should also be closely followed as political events can at times lead to significant fluctuations in the Forex market. This can notably be observed during the different steps that led towards Brexit but can also change due to elections or referendums, changes in party politics or other events of this type.

Analysis N°4

Finally, we would also follow the general data and economic figures concerning these economies.  The economic announcements are frequent here and carefully scrutinised by investors in the GBP/USD who are constantly watching for announcements that will influence this currency exchange rate. Certain significant figures are also published regularly such as retail sales, employment figures and inflation figures.

77% of retail CFD accounts lose money. This is an advert for trading CFDs on Plus500

General presentation of the GBP/USD currency pair:

The GBP/USD is in fact the currency exchange rate on the Forex market between the pound sterling and the American dollar. To summarise, this currency pair represents the foreign currency exchange rate of a single sterling pound in American dollars. Generally this currency pair is called the ‘Cable’ or ‘Sterling’.

The quotation of the GBP/USD currency pair is expressed, as with other currencies, in pips or tenths of pips with certain brokers. Historically, we note that the Cable rate has varied over the last twenty years in a band of between 1.40 and 2.10 pips. Its highest rate was in 2007 but the pair rapidly lost value due to the ongoing economic crisis which actually began in 2008. It is during this period and due to the financial crisis that the pair reached its lowest rate of 1.40 pips.

Many traders use the Cable to trade on the Forex as the indicators that enable the forecast of its movements are numerous due to the popularity of the American dollar and the particularities of the British Pound.

 

What does the GBP/USD currency pair represent:

The GBP/USD is a currency pair on the foreign exchange market, or Forex, that is also called the Cross and represents in this case the exchange rate of the sterling pound expressed in American dollars.  The base currency of this pair is therefore the British currency, the sterling pound, and its counterpart is the American currency, the U.S. dollar.

To summarise, we can therefore say that the GBP/USD currency pair represents and indicates the amount of American dollars that are required for the purchase of a single sterling pound. It should in fact be remembered that the base currency of a currency pair is always situated to the left and its counterpart is always to the right of the currency pair quoted.

As an example, and to better understand what the GBP/USD currency pair represents, let us imagine that the value of this pair is 1.25 pips. This means that it is necessary to have 1.25 American dollars to buy a single sterling pound.  However this also means that if you sell a single pound sterling you will theoretically receive a payment of 1.25 American dollars.

As we shall examine in detail later on, the rate of a currency pair such as the pound sterling and American dollar changes continuously according to supply and demand on the foreign exchange market. This is why the GBP/USD is also a speculative asset for a number of investors.

 

Operation and quotation of the GBP/USD currency pair:

Now that we have presented the GBP/USD currency pair we shall look at the more technical side by examining the quotation for this currency pair and its function and operation on the foreign exchange market.

In fact, as you have probably already remarked upon, and as is also the case for other assets that can be traded online, the quote for the GBP/USD currency pair on the brokers online platforms presents two values, not a single one. These two rates on the stock market for this currency pair are called the ‘ask’ and ‘bid’ rates, or the buying and selling exchange rates. The values of these two rates are constantly changing.

It should also be noted that the quotation for a currency pair represents a specific measureable unit called a ‘pip’. Here, a ‘pip’ represents 0.0001 of the quoted price. Therefore, when the rate of the GBP/USD currency pair changes from 1.25100 to 1.25101 we say that the observed movement is 1 pip.

So why does this double quotation exist? In fact, the ‘ask’ and the ‘bid’ prices represent the price difference which is called the ‘spread’.  For example, when the GBP/USD quotation is noted as 1.25100 – 1.25115 this means that the spread is 1.5 pips. We would note here that in the example given, the last number of the quotation, the fifth decimal place, is used only by trading software in order to provide the most precise rate possible.

The spread displayed for the sterling pound American dollar currency pair is above all used for calculating the brokers’ remuneration.  It is in fact this difference between the buying price which is slightly higher to the real price and the selling price which is slightly lower to the real price, that generates a form of margin for this intermediary.

This notion of spreads is important to understand and take into consideration as a spread can be fixed or variable depending on the broker and, when it is variable, can change several times during a single trading session depending on the volatility of the market or the trading hours with the spreads often low during the market opening hours relating to the GBP/USD, this means the American market opening hours and those of the European markets.

 

Follow an economic calendar for analysing the GBP/USD:

As we have just examined, a fundamental analysis of the GBP/USD currency pair is completed through the knowledge and understanding conveyed through various economic, political and financial publications and announcements relating to the United States and the United Kingdom economies. To follow this information in real time investors on the Forex regularly use an economic calendar.

This calendar is in fact an agenda, available online on a number of specialised websites on the financial markets and the Forex that enable you to know in advance the dates and events to follow. For example, in this calendar we find the dates of the meetings of the Fed and the BOE, the major expected publications and announcements for these two economies as well as significant anticipated political events.

But that is not all! Not only does the economic calendar indicate the major dates, it will also indicate the figures in real time on their official publication and announcement.  It is even possible to programme alerts. Even better! Certain Forex economic calendars also indicate, before the publication, the expectations of analysts relating to future publications and announcements. It is now possible to obtain supplementary analytical factors with figures that can be compared with the actual results while ensuring that you take into account the market anticipation phenomena.

Of course, other events not noted in the economic calendar can also exert an influence on this currency exchange rate such as was recently the case with the Covid-19 pandemic which has had a major impact on the British and American economies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is the GBP/USD currency pair popular?

The GBP/USD is one of the oldest and most widely traded currency pairs today. The term cable refers to the practice of transferring pound quotes in the 19th century via the undersea cable that crossed the Atlantic. The UK and US have close ties and important trade agreements, which increases the volumes traded between these two currencies. It is also this liquidity that has made the currency pair so popular with traders.

What is the most influential factor in the GBP/USD currency pair?

One of the factors most likely to influence the GBP/USD currency pair at the moment is the decisions that the central banks that control these currencies may make. These are the Bank of England and the US Federal Reserve. The interest rate differential set by these two financial institutions will have a direct impact on Forex trading between these two major currencies.

How to analyse the GBP/USD currency pair?

In order to study the GBP/USD currency pair and its long and short term potential, it is necessary to use several different types of analysis including fundamental analysis which will focus on the most influential past and future events and technical analysis which will study the price patterns.

77% of retail CFD accounts lose money. You should consider whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. This is an advert for trading CFDs on Plus500

GBP/USD

Analyse du cours de la paire de devise GBP/USD

71% de comptes d’investisseurs de détail perdent de l’argent lors de la négociation de CFD avec ce fournisseur.
 
Graphique fourni par TradingView

La paire de devises GBP/USD ou Livre Sterling Dollar est actuellement l’une des plus échangées sur le marché des changes. Il s’agit en effet d’une des plus importantes paires de devises du marché Forex en termes de liquidités peu après l’EUR/USD. Mais que représente réellement cette paire de devises et surtout, comment fonctionne son taux de change et comment en réaliser de bonnes analyses ? C’est ce que nous vous proposons de découvrir ici dans un article entièrement dédié à cette valeur du marché des devises.  

Elements qui peuvent influencer le cours de cet actif

Analyse N°1

La santé économique de ces deux pays. Il va de soi que la force de la demande en livre sterling ou en dollar américain va être en grande partie fonction de l’attractivité de leurs économies respectives. Une croissance ou crise économique aux Etats-Unis ou au Royaume-Uni peuvent ainsi entrainer des mouvements haussiers ou baissiers de cette paire de devises en favorisant ou défavorisant le GBP ou l’USD.

Analyse N°2

Les politiques monétaires de ces deux zones sont également bien sûr des éléments importants à prendre en considération lors de la réalisation de son analyse fondamentale. En ce qui concerne le Royaume-Uni, c’est la Banque Centrale d’Angleterre ou BoE qui se réunit une fois par mois pour publier un rapport de synthèse sur la politique monétaire qui doit être suivie afin de prendre connaissance des détails de ces décisions. Pour les Etats-Unis, la banque centrale en charge de cette politique monétaire est la Fed ou Réserve Fédérale. Ces organismes peuvent en effet agir sur le taux d’intérêt de la livre sterling ou du dollar en l’augmentant, en le laissant inchangé ou en le baissant, ce qui va le plus souvent avoir un effet sur les prises de position des investisseurs sur ces devises.

Analyse N°3

Les politiques économiques globales de ces deux pays sont aussi à suivre de près car les évènements politiques peuvent parfois entrainer des fluctuations importantes sur le marché des changes. Cela a notamment pu être observé lors des différentes étapes du Brexit mais peut aussi s’avérer vrai lors d’élections présidentielles ou gouvernementales, de changement de parti politique ou d’autres évènements de ce genre.

Analyse N°4

Enfin, on suivra aussi les données et chiffres économiques généraux concernant ces économies. Les annonces économiques sont ici fréquentes et sont scrutées par les investisseurs sur le GBP/USD à la recherche d’une annonce qui aura une influence sur ce cross. Certains chiffres sont ainsi publiés de manière récurrente comme les ventes au détail, les chiffres de l’emploi ou encore les chiffres de l’inflation.

71% de comptes d’investisseurs de détail perdent de l’argent lors de la négociation de CFD avec ce fournisseur. Ceci est une annonce pour trader les CFD avec AvaTrade

Présentation du GBP/USD

On appelle GBP/USD la parité du Forex entre la Livre Sterling et le Dollar américain. En clair, ce cross représente le taux de change d’une livre sterling en dollars. Plus généralement, cette parité est appelée le Cable ou le Sterling.

La cotation du cross GBP/USD est exprimée, comme pour les autres devises, en pips ou en dixième de pips chez certains brokers. Historiquement, on constate que le Cable a évolué depuis une vingtaine d’année dans un canal de fluctuation serré compris entre 1.40 et 2.10 pips.  Son plus haut résultat a été atteint en 2007, mais le cross a très rapidement perdu de sa valeur à cause de la crise économique actuelle qui a débuté en 2008. C’est donc à cette période et à cause de la crise financière que le cross a atteint son niveau le plus bas à 1.40 pips.

Beaucoup de traders utilisent le Cable pour trader sur le Forex car les indicateurs permettant de prédire son évolution sont très nombreux en raison de la popularité du Dollar Américain et de la singularité de la Livre britannique.

Analyse du cours de la paire de devise GBP/USD
71% de comptes d’investisseurs de détail perdent de l’argent lors de la négociation de CFD avec ce fournisseur. Ceci est une annonce pour trader les CFD avec AvaTrade

Que représente la paire de devises GBP/USD :

Le GBP/USD est une paire de devises du marché des changes, également appelée Cross et qui représente ici le taux de change de la livre sterling exprimée en dollars américains. La devise de base de cette paire de devises est donc la monnaie britannique, la livre sterling et la devise de contrepartie est ici la devise des Etats-Unis à savoir le dollar américain.

En résumé, on peut donc dire que la paire de devises GBP/USD représente et indique la quantité de dollars qui est nécessaire pour acheter 1 livre sterling. Rappelons en effet que la devise de base d’une paire de devises est toujours située à gauche du cross et que la devise de contrepartie se trouve quant à elle à droite de ce cross.

A titre d’exemple et pour mieux comprendre ce que représente le cross GBP/USD, imaginons que la valeur de cette parité soit de 1.25 pips. Cela signifie donc qu’il est nécessaire d’avoir 1.25 dollars américains pour acheter 1 livre sterling. Mais cela signifie également que si vous vendez une livre sterling, vous percevrez une rémunération de 1.25 dollars américains.

Or, comme nous allons le voir plus bas, le cours d’une paire de devises comme la livre sterling dollar varie en permanence en fonction de l’offre et de la demande sur le marché des changes. C’est la raison pour laquelle le GBP/USD est également un actif de spéculation pour de nombreux investisseurs.

 

Fonctionnement et cotation de la paire de devises GBP/USD :

Maintenant que nous vous avons présenté le cross GBP/USD, passons à un peu de technique en nous intéressant cette fois à la cotation de cette paire de devises et à son fonctionnement sur le marché des changes.

En effet, comme vous l’aurez sans doute déjà remarqué et comme c’est également le cas pour les autres actifs qu’il est possible de trader en ligne, la cotation du cross GBP/USD présente, sur les plateformes des brokers, deux valeurs et non une seule. Ces deux cours de Bourse pour ce taux de change sont ici appelés « ask » et « bid » soit en français, le cours acheteur et le cours vendeur. Les niveaux de ces deux valeurs sont en perpétuelle évolution.

Notons également que la cotation d’une paire de devises présente une unité de mesure spécifique appelée « pip ». Un pip représente ici 0.0001 du prix coté. Ainsi, lorsque le cours de la parité GBP/USD passe de 1.25100 à 1.25101, on dit que le mouvement observé est de 1 pip.

Mais alors pourquoi cette double cotation ? En réalité, l’ask et le bid présentent une différence de cours qui est ici appelée « spread ». Par exemple, lorsque la cotation du GBP/USD est notée 1.25100 – 1.25115, cela signifie que le spread est de 1.5 pips. On retiendra ici que dans l’exemple que nous venons de prendre, le dernier chiffre de la cotation soit la cinquième décimale est utilisé uniquement par les logiciels de trading dans le but d’avoir un cours le plus précis possible.

Le spread affiché par la paire de devises Livre Sterling – Dollar américain sert avant tout à calculer la rémunération du courtiers ou broker. C’est en effet cette différence entre le prix d’achat qui est légèrement supérieur au cours réel ou du prix de vente qui est légèrement inférieur au cours réel, qui génèrent une forme de marge pour cet intermédiaire.

Cette notion de spread est importante à comprendre et à prendre en considération car le spread peut être fixe ou variable selon le broker et, lorsqu’il est variable, il peut changer plusieurs fois au cours d’une seule et même séance selon la volatilité du marché ou encore en fonction des heures de négociations avec des spreads souvent bas pendant les heures d’ouverture du marché concerné par le GBP/USD, à savoir les heures d’ouverture de la séance américaine et de la séance européenne.

 

Suivre le calendrier économique pour analyser le GBP/USD :

Comme nous venons de le voir, l’analyse fondamentale du cross de devises GBP/USD passe par une prise de connaissance des différentes publications économiques, politiques et monétaires qui impactent les économies des Etats-Unis et du Royaume-Uni. Or, pour suivre ces données en temps réel, les investisseurs du marché des changes utilisent régulièrement un calendrier économique.

Ce calendrier est en effet un agenda, disponible en ligne sur de nombreux sites spécialisés dans les marchés financiers et le Forex et qui permet de connaitre à l’avance les dates et évènements majeurs à suivre. Pa exemple, on y trouvera les dates de réunion de la Fed et de la BoE, les publications économiques attendues pour ces deux économies ou encore les évènements politiques majeurs programmés.

Mais ce n’est pas tout ! Non seulement le calendrier économique va vous indiquer les dates importantes mais aussi les chiffres réels au moment de leur publication officielle. Il est même possible d’y programmer des alertes. Mieux encore ! Certains calendriers économiques Forex indiquent aussi, avant la publication réelle, les attentes des analystes en ce qui concerne les futures publications. Il est alors possible de disposer d’un élément d’analyse supplémentaire avec un chiffre à comparer au résultat tout en veillant à tenir compte du phénomène d’anticipation du marché.

Bien sûr, d’autres évènements qui ne sont pas relayés dans le calendrier économique peuvent aussi avoir une influence sur le cours de cette valeur comme cela a été le cas récemment avec la pandémie de Covid-19 qui a impacté à la fois l’économie britannique et l’économie américaine.

71% de comptes d’investisseurs de détail perdent de l’argent lors de la négociation de CFD avec ce fournisseur. Vous devez vous assurer que vous pouvez vous permettre de prendre le risque élevé de perdre votre argent. Ceci est une annonce pour trader les CFD avec AvaTrade